Form of Government

The form of government established by the Charter of the City of Chardon is known as council-manager. The representative branch consists of the Council, and possesses legislative powers specified in the Charter.

The Council consists of 6 elected council members and 1 elected mayor, who also serves as the 7th council member.  Council appoints a manager to execute the laws and administer the government of the City.


The Municipality has all the powers, general or special, governmental or proprietary, that may now or hereafter lawfully are possessed or exercised by municipal corporations under the Constitution and general laws of the State of Ohio.

The powers of the Municipality shall be exercised in the manner prescribed in the charter, or, to the extent that the manner is not prescribed herein, in such manner as the Council may determine. The powers of the Municipality may also be exercised, except as a contrary intent or implication in this Charter or in the enactments of the Council, in such manner as may now or hereafter be provided by the general laws of the State of Ohio.